Read-a-Thon Update Post Day One!

Happy Read-a-Thon everyone!

How many books will you read during read-a-thon?

The Read-a-Thon starts at 12 GMT, which is 2pm here in Germany! My strategy for reading as much as possible is the following: I read until midnight. Then I decide whether or not I con go on for another two hours. I will sleep until 8 am, get up and start reading again until the Read-a-Thon is over.  I will not go for the full 24 hours because my sleeping schedule is messed up as it is and I’m currently trying to fix that. Staying up for 24 hours will probably not help with that.

I will not be reading the whole time, I will be updating this post and looking at other blogs and see how they are doing! Interesting in what I’m planning on reading this read-a-thon?I posted my to-read pile here!

T- 1 hour, 30 minutes

I finished my weekend shopping and everything is set up so that the reading can start! I will take a short nap now so that I will not get tired as easily!

Read-a-thon Updates: ——————–

2 pm : It’s starting!

Opening questionaire:

1) What fine part of the world are you reading from today?

Hamburg, Germany, Europe!
2) Which book in your stack are you most looking forward to?

The Tales Of Beedle The Bard! I’ll be reading it inbetween books. That’s the plan anyway 😉
3) Which snack are you most looking forward to?

Asparagus! It’s that time of the year again, yay!
4) Tell us a little something about yourself!

Hi, I’m Ace! Actually, my name is Ann-Christine. But that’s a very long, strange and complicated name. That’s why most people call me AC, or Ace! I started my book blog this January! I have a huge TBR Pile, and the read-a-thon is a great opportunity to work on that!
5) If you participated in the last read-a-thon, what’s one thing you’ll do different today? If this is your first read-a-thon, what are you most looking forward to?

This is my first read-a-thon. I’m looking forward to many hours reading time and many interesting blog posts from many different blogs! Happy reading everyone!

6pm: Finished the first book!

Just this second the church bells ring, it is exactly 6pm now and I just finished The Boy And His Horse by C.S. Lewis!

Currently reading:

Pages read since last update: 176

Books read since last update: 1

Total page count: 176

Books finished during read-a-thon: 1

Where there snacks? Yes! I had homemade bread with cheese! Yum! I also took a short break to go to the supermarket across the street. And I will have to do that again now because I forgot something.

10pm: A late meal and tired eyes

I just finished cooking my meal (grilled asparagus with parsley-covered potatoes) and I’m eating it while writing this post! So in these past 3 hours I started two new books. First I started Tales Of Beedle The Bard by J.K. Rowling. Originally I wanted to read one story during books, but it is so much fun to read that I read 3 storys by now. The second book I started is Around The World In 80 Days by Jules Verne! Like the Narnia book earlier, I’m reading this one in German.

Currently reading: Tales Of Beedle The Bard by J.K. Rowling, Around The World In 80 Days by Jules Verne

Pages read since last update: 152

Books finished since last update: 0

Total page count: 328

Books finished during read-a-thon: 1 – The Boy And His Horse by C.S. Lewis

I have to admit, I’m already getting a little tired. But it’s less than two hours to midnight and I think I’ll be able to go on until than. Will I go to bed then or stay up till 2am ? I don’t know yet, but I will keep you posted 😉

12pm: Bedtime!

During the last 2 hours I ate dinner, talked to my boyfriend on the phone and updated this post. That’s why I didn’t get much reading done. But I finished the Tales Of Beedle The Bard! Now I can go to bed feeling accomplished.

Currently reading: Around The World In 80 Days by Jules Verne

Pages read since last update: 52

Books finished since last update: 0

Total page count: 380

Books finished during read-a-thon: 2 – The Boy And His Horse by C.S. Lewis, Tales Of Beedle The Bard by J.K. Rowling

So how is your read-a-thon so far? Let me know 🙂

I’ll be up and reading again tomorrow at 8am, so until then, HAPPY READING everyone!

Categories: Read-A-Thon | Tags: , , | 14 Comments

Post navigation

14 thoughts on “Read-a-Thon Update Post Day One!

  1. ich wünsche ganz viel Spaß beim read-a-thon 🙂 Würde selber auch gerne sowas machen, habe nur leider nicht die Zeit dafür :/

    lg aus Marburg

    • Vielen Dank 🙂 Ja, ich hab mir auch extra das Wochenende frei gehalten!
      Dir trotzdem ein schönes Wochenende 🙂

  2. Hey, I’m in the Netherlands, so we’re on the same time schedule! I’m planning things very similar to you: read until midnight (or a bit longer), then sleep until 8 and then continue reading! Funny we are doing the same. Is your strategy based on previous readthons? Mine is. This must be my 4th time.

    Have fun and I’ll be back to see how you’re doing.

    • No, this is my first time! Yes, it really is funny that our strategy is so similar 😉 I just thought this would be best for me 🙂 Happy reading!

  3. thetravelingreader

    Hi, AC! 🙂

    I’m popping over to see how fab you’re doing. Good luck and enjoy your first readathon! 😉
    Btw, I’m on at twitter (@travelingreadr) until 2 hours from now (that will be around midnight here in Cebu) cheering for the terrific #cheerfalstaff #readathon -ers. ^_^

  4. midnightbookgirl

    Hey, AC! I think Tales of the Beedle Bard is a perfect Readathon book! Most of me Readathon books are from my TBR pile too!

    I’m one of your cheerleaders, so I’ll be stopping by later to cheer you on!

  5. Oh! Great plan! I have The Tales of Beedle the Bard and haven’t read it yet. I should pull that out some time today and read it.

  6. Happy reading in the morning!

  7. Hope you’ve made it out of bed. I’m back to reading – got up at 8am.

    Have a good few more hours!

    • Yes, I made it and I just posted my day-two post seconds ago 😀 Have fun and happy reading in the final hours of readathon! 🙂

  8. Pingback: April 2012 Reading Wrap Up « The Book Hunter

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

