April 2012 Reading Wrap Up

Wow! I actually read twelve books in April! That’s a lot for me, really! Also, last was the month I picked up blogging again! I participated in the readathon last month, too, and I had a lot of fun! See how I did here and here!

The books I read in April

The books I read in April

So on to the huge list of books I read!

Children’s Lit:

The Magician’s Nephew by C.S. Lewis

The Lion, The Witch And The Wardrobe by C.S. Lewis

The Horse And His Boy by C.S. Lewis

I liked the first three books of the Chronicles of Narnia, I enjoyed The Horse And His Boy most! I will review those once I finished them all.

Young Adult:

What Happened To Goodbye by Sarah Dessen

I really liked it, although it was almost the same reading experience as the other two books I read by Sarah Dessen (Along For The Ride, Just Listen). This is because I really like the way I feel while reading these books. It’s relaxing and I find myself as a teenager in the characters sometimes and I just feel really good while reading these books.

A Great And Terrible Beauty by Libba Bray

You can find my review here! I liked it, but it was not overwhelming.

The Knife Of Never Letting Go by Patrick Ness

I have a review up here! I loved this! Very obscure and awesome setting, great suspenceful story!

Classics:

The Wonderful Wizard Of Oz by Frank L. Baum

A very cute classic. I was surprised that I just remembered some small fragments of the story! Great story, I liked this a lot!

Wuthering Heights by Emily Brontë

One of my favorite books now. Loved it! My review can be found here!

Around The World In 80 Days by Jules Verne

I liked the story a lot, but I had trouble connecting to the characters. Review to come!

Science Fiction/Dystopian:

Neuromancer by William Gibson

I had my troubles with this book, but in the end I liked it quite a lot! Review here!

1984 by George Orwell

Again, another new favorite of mine! Check out my review here!

Anthology:

The Tales Of Beedle The Bard by J.K. Rowling

A very cute anthology! I really liked the stories and I was glad there was something out of the Harry Potter universe I hadn’t read yet. I enjoyed the read a lot!

Update on challenges:

I finished Neuromancer by William Gibson, Around The World In 80 Days by Jules Verne and 1984 by George Orwell for the Around The Stacks In How Many Ways – Challenge! With Science Fiction, Dystopian and Adventure I covered three genres already! I think I will change the challenge settings for me though. I think I will not determine which books I want to use for this challenge and which genres I want to read. I want to read what I feel like reading and not feel obliged to read a certain book next. That kind of takes the fun out of it for me and I really don’t want that!

What did you read last month?

Categories: Monthly Wrap Ups | Tags: , , , , | 12 Comments

Post navigation

12 thoughts on “April 2012 Reading Wrap Up

  1. You were on a CS Lewis run! Go you. All of these sound amazing.

  2. Is The Knife of Never Letting Go part of the Chaos Walking Series?

    • Yes, it’s the first one in the series! The second one is The Ask And The Answer, the third one is called Monsters Of Men.

      • Nice! Thanks for letting me know 🙂 Are you going to read the other two books?

      • Oooh, for sure! I really liked it a lot! I don’t know when I’ll be able to read them though, my TBR-pile is huge 😉

      • I’ll look forward to reading your reviews for them! And I know my TBR pile is really big too. But I guess that’s what Summer is for! 🙂

      • I’m currently writing my thesis so no summer for me any time soon 😉 But I’ll be ready some day and then I can read and read and read… 😀

      • Good Luck on your thesis! I wrote my undergrad honours thesis last year and lol it definitely left me without any time to read for fun.

        What is your thesis about? If you don’t mind me asking that is!

      • Kinda hard to explain 😉 I’m studying computer sciences, it’s on streams and communication orientated program development ^^

  3. What Happened to Goodbye looks really good. I really need to read more of her books!

    ~Paige @ Comfort Books

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

