Book Review: Ender’s Game by Orson Scott Card

Ender’s Game by Orson Scott Card

The earth has survived two attacks by the buggers, an alien race. The war is still going on and another invasion attempt is awaited anytime now. Ender is six years old. But he isn’t an ordinary boy. He is a Third. In an overpopulated world, it is not allowed for a family to have more than two children. But Ender’s parents have a special permission, because their children are of special interest to the military.

I really enjoyed the background setting of Ender’s Game. The world seams to be a grim and violent place, always preparing for war. The plot was compelling, you always wanted to know what obstacle Ender had to overcome next. After a while though, I felt it was a little repetitive. Overall, I liked the plot though and I especially liked the ending! (Although I guessed the twist before it happened. It did not take the fun out of it for me)

The story is told from Ender’s perspective. At no point in the book Ender acts or thinks like his age, but it is explained enough for me to be okay with that.  I liked how he developed as a character, altough I did pity him, for he has a lot to go through.

Colonel Graff was a remarkable character, who added a lot to the story. He was very dimensional, as a reader you never quite knew what was up with him. Is he the villian? Does he only do his job? Does he do the right thing?

Also Valentine and Peter where very interesting. On the one hand, the influence they continued to have on Ender even after their seperation, on the other hand the way they changed over time.

The writing style and the way the story was told added wonderfuly to the story and the atmosphere.  I liked the way the surroundings where described, it complemented the claustrophobic and depressing feel.

Overall I really enjoyed this piece of classic science fiction literature. I’m not sure weather I will read the whole Ender’s and Ender’s Shadow series, but I added the sequel Speaker for the Dead and Ender’s Shadow, which is the first in the Ender’s Shadow series and focusses on another character of the book, to my mental to-be-read list.

Ender’s Game receives 4 out of 5 stars.

More about Ender’s Game:

Categories: Reviews | Tags: , , , , , , | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

